Meal Planning at the Lake

Summer Solstice is upon us and vacations are in full swing!  Lake houses are filling up, lightning bugs being caught, and fishing is all the rage.  From sunrise to sunset activities fill the hours; enjoying life has never been so much fun or so much work.  Serving up satisfying meals without sacrificing yourself to the kitchen requires some prevacation prep work, but it’s well worth it when you are busy, even if you’re doing nothing at all.

Every June my boys and I have the pleasure of spending a week at the lake with my niece, nephews, brother-in-law, sisters in-law, and father-in-law.  It is one of our favorite things to do all year.  I shop starting the week before we are scheduled to leave, sometimes earlier if I see something on sale that I know we’re going to be eating, i.e. bacon.  With a group of roughly 15 of us, it is hard to please everyone, all the time.  I usually start the menu off by taking suggestions (even the junk food ones loved by my nephews) and then shaking as much of it as possible into a plan that achieves a compromise.  It can be a challenge to keep a non processed lifestyle when with others, however no matter how nice I am trying to be, I will not buy garbage snacks for the kiddies.  So this year I will be baking brownie bites, mini chocolate chip muffins, and cake batter rice krispie treats to take along in order to offer the sweet snacks the kiddo’s want in a way that doesn’t make me cringe.  I also prep and marinade all the meat at home and freeze for the car ride. Last year we discovered a clean, well priced grocery store; I am going to take my chances and buy all the bread, dairy, and  fresh produce in Michigan.  Seeing as how in Chicago, Michigan fruits and veggies are sought after I hope to find some ripe delights!  What are some ways that you style your vacation food?

Here’s some great marinade recipes that pleases even picky palates:
Alton Brown’s Molasses Coffee Marinade for Pork
Jennirific Brined Grilled Chicken
Mojo Marinade – Great for Fajitas

3 responses

  1. Pingback: U-Pick Fruit Muffins | Jennirific

Leave a Reply

