Strawberry Banana Trifle

Dessert is a favorite word in my vocabulary!  Cakes, cookies, tarts, pies, puddings; they all have a special place near and dear to me.  Baking is the first culinary adventure I embarked on, while standing on a chair in my mother’s kitchen stirring pudding to make pies.  After some time, I graduated to cookies and my hunger for knowledge kept me testing out more and more recipes for sweet treats.  Baking is common tradition shared in families, and mine is no different.  The most fabulous pound cake ever is made into lambs every Easter by my godmother and covered with a unique cream cheese like frosting.  She bakes, then freezes the cakes; which I think contributes to their dense, silky texture. The recipe is not mine to share, and even with it my results have never achieved lamb cake status.  Some recipes are all about the method.  I have included the Joy of Cooking pound cake recipe; which is very similar and always bakes a nice cake.              
Today, I am mixing a little of all my favorite aspects of dessert and offering a trifle recipe to take along to your next party, or serve at home to loved ones.  This dish is a constant in my repertoire
 because I can make parts of it when I have time and not have to spend too long on the day I wish to serve.  Since it’s June and strawberries are in season and gorgeous, I went with Strawberry Banana; however feel free to mix the fruit choice up to your tastes or whatever looks best in the produce department. Blueberries, raspberries, peaches, cherries; these all work wonderfully! This also works great served in individual portioned glasses, parfait style. 

INGREDIENTS:

    • 2 loaves of pound cake cut into cubes. (The loaves can be made in advance or you can purchase from your local bakery.)
      • 2 pints heavy whipping cream, made into whipped cream
    • 1 serving crème patisserie (I usuallly make this the day before I am serving the trifle. The pastry creme should be used within three days of preparation.)
  • 1 lb. fresh strawberries sliced and allowed to sit with 1 teaspoon of sugar mixed into for 20 minutes.
  • 4 ripe bananas, sliced with a small sprinkle of lemon juice to keep from turning brown


METHOD:

  1. Apply a small amount of crème patisserie to the bottom of a deep bowl.
  2. Layer the first loaf of pound cake, distributing evenly through the bowl.
  3. Spread the sliced bananas on top of pound cake; leave a few pieces aside for garnishing.
  4. Spread the crème patisserie in a thick layer on top of the bananas.
  5. Layer the second loaf of pound cake, distributing evenly.
  6. Spread the strawberries and their juice on top the second layer of pound cake, leaving a few slices for garnishing
  7. Top with an even layer of whipped cream, using all of it.
  8. Garnish with remaining fruit.
  9. Allow Trifle to sit for at least 3 hours before serving.

 

 

10 responses

Leave a comment